“If You Wipe, You Don’t Have to Scrub” (Come and Find Rest!) – A Subtle Reminder in My Mother’s Wisdom

My brother and I were helping my dear mother the other night clean the dishes and the kitchen after winding down the evening from a wonderful Sunday dinner (delicious steaks made on the grill by yours truly…and I might add that they were really delicious!…and did I already mention they were made by yours truly? LOL…just kidding).

But nonetheless, as we were helping her she was (in her own Mother Love way) gently but firmly giving us our tasks and marching orders for cleaning the kitchen just the way she wanted it. And one of the tasks she gave my oldest brother was to clean the microwave. A little time went by and she noticed he was still cleaning it. She asked him what was taking so long. He replied that he had to scrub a little so it was taking a minute. She let him know (again in her own Mother Love way :-)) that if he and my dad and all of us who frequently use the microwave would start wiping it down after each use then he wouldn’t have to worry about scrubbing it. And the thought just popped in my mind – if you just take the time to wipe you won’t have to scrub later. I told my mom how proverbial I thought this was!

And as I continued to ponder that thought, it took me to another important truth Jesus was getting at, which parallels this proverbial statement from my mom. Only this has to do with the whole of life.

As human beings, our natural fallen and selfish tendency is to want to take matters into our own hands,  want to do things our own way and want to push our own thoughts, ideas and agendas for making things right rather than submitting ourselves to the best way, and in actuality, the easiest way. And that is the way of surrender. Jesus says to us these glorious truths in Matthew 11:28-30:

Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. 29 Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30 For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.”

In essence, he is speaking to all the “scrubbers” out there. Stop scrubbing. Stop making things harder than it has to be. Just come to me. Just as you are. Not with your ideas. Not with your opinions. Or ideas. Or suggestions. Or thoughts on how you think things should be. That’s not for you to concern yourself with (Acts 1:7). But just bring yourself. Bring all of you. Your heart. Your mind. And your soul to me. And I WILL give you rest. He’s assured us folks. We will find rest if we come to Him. And all it takes is for us to come to Him simply and humbly- as a little child (Matt 11:25-26). And we will experience and enjoy this promised rest!

And that’s not even the best part – the best part is that not only is He telling us that we can stop “scrubbing”, but He also is telling us that we don’t even have to wipe! Because He already did that for us! How you might ask? Well over 2,000 years ago the Beloved Son of God carried an old rugged cross up to a hill called Calvary, and he spilled his precious and pure blood that is now available to wipe away all the sin and guilt (1 John 1:7) of anyone who would lay down their weapons of warfare and rebellion against Him, and instead run to Him to find this promised rest. And oh what a glorious rest it is. So please. Take my mom’s advice.

Stop scrubbing. And wiping for that matter. Because Jesus has already done that. Just come. And rest!

Here’s a great song by Nicole C. Mullen that reminds us of the Lord’s plea to Come Unto Me….Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

