Lesson # 2 – His Grace is Sufficient…

Lesson # 2 – His Grace is Sufficient….

Happy New Year to everyone! I trust everyone had a safe night of ushering in yet another year. Well, here I am with my first post of 2015. And how fitting that it comes on New Year’s Day. Today is my Mom’s birthday. She was born January 1, 1951. For those who have been following, I have been sharing lessons that she taught me (either directly or indirectly by her life) before she left to be with the Lord last year. So here is Lesson #2.

His Grace is Sufficient!

Oh how powerful a lesson this was. This of course comes from the well-known Scripture passage penned by the Apostle Paul in his letter to the Corinthians. He states in 2 Corinthians 12:9 “But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.”…

On the surface this statement would seem like nothing but a nice cliché to post on your wall as a cute little morning devotional to start the day. However, if one backs up to the list of Paul’s perils he lays out in 2 Corinthians 11:24-29, then they quickly get a flavor of the depth of meaning this statement in 2 Corinthians 12:9 has. And if those aren’t enough, Paul goes on to discuss the infamous “thorn in the flesh” that God chose to leave with the weary Apostle for his own good. Wow. So all the perils in 2 Corinthians 11:24-29 (which include sleepless nights, hunger, shipwrecks, danger, hardship, etc…you get the idea), and then on top of that a thorn in the flesh!

Surely this would be enough to drive one to their wits end. Surely this would be enough to cause even the most dogged of believers and followers of Christ to give up and go back on God. To throw in the towel and turn back to the seeming comforts and ease of life according to this present world. But Paul learns something. He learns that there is something available for such wearied travelers that is beyond them. And that is God’s grace. His unmerited favor. His kindness and warmth and love and forgiveness and patience and on and on it goes. And it is unlimited. And even better. It is sufficient. Sufficient? What does that mean? That means it is enough. It is enough to get you through. It is enough to sustain you. To keep you. To shelter you. To keep you from turning and going back on God. Even in the most difficult of circumstances, His grace is ENOUGH. It is sufficient. It is ultimately all you need to make it. And that is good news for those who have placed their faith and trust in Christ. He promises grace that is enough to get us through even the most difficult of life’s circumstances. And so what was the beloved Apostle’s response to his weaknesses in light of this sufficient grace? Well the “B” clause of verse 9 says this: “…Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses so that the power of Christ may rest upon me.”

In other words, if it takes my weakness to experience and enjoy the supernatural power of Christ in me, then so be it. Because through His power, I can become strong, though I am weak.

My Mother lived this. Throughout her journey she did not complain about her weakness, but she rather boasted in her own weakness so that she could tap into the supernatural strength of the risen Christ to rest upon her. And it was a strength that gave her a smile when she would otherwise cry. A strength that gave her joy when she would otherwise be in sorrow. And a strength that gave her the power to love and to give when she would otherwise be embittered and stingy.

That same power is available for you and I today. I made it through 2014 on this lesson. Though I’ve preached this message to others, my Mom taught it to me experientially on a whole new level by her living example.

And so I commend this lesson to you as well. Regardless of what 2015 may have ahead, for those of us who are in Christ, His grace will be sufficient. No matter what comes our way. His grace will be enough!

Leave a Reply

